Life / Musings

Out With The Old, In With The New

Cue Eminem’s “Cleaning Out My Closet”

Shortly after the new year I decided that my room and the space around me was feeling quite cluttered and heavy. My closet was bursting with clothes, shoes, and accessories, but every time I got ready to go out I couldn’t find a thing to wear. Which meant one thing, it was time to do some Spring (even though it’s still winter) cleaning.  I would say it had been over a year since the last time I went through my closet and I was waaaayyyyy overdue. This lapse isn’t like me since I usually like to go through my wardrobe every six months and get rid of all the stuff I’m no longer wearing or anything that is starting to look dingy and worn out. So one night I piece by piece went through every single thing I owned.

At the end I had two kitchen garbage bags of clothes and one bag of shoes, purses and accessories. I divided everything into a giveaway Goodwill pile and a few items were basically still new so I decided to take those to Platos Closet to see if they would be interested in purchasing them. After my closet felt twenty pounds lighter I decided to move on to my bathroom and vanity. I went through all of my beauty products, cosmetics, and toiletries that were sitting under my sink and in my drawers, and threw out everything that I had tried and hated or no longer had use for. When I was done I had a garbage bag of stuff set to go to the trash.

After the mass purge was complete I literally felt a weight had been lifted. My mental space felt less cluttered and I felt freer. My environment felt open and clean so it in turn put my mind at peace. There was an immediate release of tension and I felt much calmer than I had been feeling. Cleaning out all the physical junk that I had collected over the past few years, left me feeling open to receive whatever is set to come my way this year.

For anyone feeling at all tense and uneasy with their world right now, a purge is really a great way to get rid of some of the junk you have picked up along the way and held on to. Whether you are like me, with physical items like clothes or cosmetics that are junking up your space, or you have mental baggage, like negative thoughts, that you have packed into your mind and held on to. It ALL needs to go. Taking inventory of your life and everything that you allow into it, is absolutely necessary from time to time. The people we surround ourselves with, the relationships we foster, the shows we watch, what we choose to read, the media we expose ourselves to, the thoughts we thinks, the items we buy, and the way we invest our time, leaves lasting effects on us all. Everything that we engage in either has a positive or negative influences on us.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that every single one of us want our lives and everything that comes our way to be positive. Even though we can’t always help it if shit goes sideways or stop bad things from taking place, we all strive to live happy, positive lives. I’m a big believer in the power of attraction and what is brought to you is that which you focus on and believe yourself to be.  In order to bring in positivity you have to have the space for it to fit into your life. Take some time to go through all aspects of your life, and everything that is holding you back or making you feel weighted down needs to be removed. If something isn’t lifting you up, pushing you towards your goals, or making you happy, then it needs to be put on the chopping block. The only way to live a fulfilling, happy life is to create it for yourself.

 

Untitled

 

temp-2

 

4 thoughts on “Out With The Old, In With The New

Penny for your thoughts...

