Life List

Been there, Done that – Cliff Diving

In the Summer of 2009, I took a tour around Eastern Europe with a group of friends from college. The trip covered about fourteen different cities, across eight countries. On our way to Spain, after leaving Nice, we stopped for the day at the Pont du Gard. The Pont du Gard is an ancient Roman aqueduct bridge that crosses the Gardon River. Our tour guide told us that many tourist like to jump off of the bridge and surrounding cliffs into the water. So most of us in the group decided to jump off of one of the cliffs. The area that we jumped off of is what you see in the first picture below. I also uploaded the video of myself finally doing the jump. You will see that I am being a total “chicken shit” (as my friend calls me in the video) and it takes me a while to actually get up the courage to go through with it. I cut down the video to what you see because it actually took me about five minutes to jump off. Once I got up there it was much higher than I originally thought it was going to be. I really wish I remembered how high they told us it was.

Cliff diving was something that I always wanted to do and it was something on my Life List. This item has been crossed off and I have done it a few other times after this, in different places. After all was said and done I have to say that it was a fun experience, even though I definitely had to overcome a moment (or a a few moments) of fear.

In the comments let me know if any of you have cliff dived before. Tell me how your experience was and from where you have done it.

#doitforthestory

temp-2

One thought on “Been there, Done that – Cliff Diving

Penny for your thoughts...

